2023 Awards of Excellence

The Providers' Council honors deserving individuals and organizations each year with our Awards of Excellence program at our annual convention. All honorees are nominated by Council members for these awards.

We are excited to announce this year’s Award of Excellence winners. Winners were announced at our 48th Annual Convention & Expo: Advocate | Act | Achieve on Monday, October, 2, 2023.

Award Categories:

Chief Executive Officer Award: Jim Goodwin, Center for Human Development

The Council annually recognizes excellence in the human service profession by presenting awards to our sector’s leadership. Each year, a chief executive officer or executive director is honored for their outstanding contributions to serving those in need.

Supervisor/Manager of the Year: Thompson Stevens, Incompass Human Services and Michael Goodwin, The Key Program

Two outstanding supervisors/managers are recognized each year for demonstrating excellence in leading and managing staff.

Gerry Wright Direct Service Employee: Catherine Nelson, Morgan Memorial Goodwill Industries and Felicia Nova, The Price Center

Direct service employees provide essential supports, services, and above all, care to individuals with varying needs. Two awards are given to direct service employees to fully recognize outstanding dedication.

Volunteer of the Year: Jim Seltzer, ServiceNet

Volunteers freely give their time, talent and energy to human services organizations. This award will be given to a person for exemplary volunteerism within a private provider agency.

Ruth M. Batson Advocate of the Year: Lynn Bishop, The Edinburg Center

Advocates work tirelessly to secure the funding, services and supports that are necessary for people to reach their greatest potential. This award is given to an individual who demonstrates conviction, devotion and tenacity in support of human services.

Innovator of the Year: Out at Home, The Home for Little Wanderers

Innovative business models and practices can promote greater value and increase the social impact of our members. This award is given to an organization that has launched or grown an exemplary innovative program.

State Employee of the Year: Mona MacKinnon, MA Department of Mental Health

Provider employees work in partnership with state employees. This award will honor a state employee who has contributed significantly to the advancement of the provider industry.

Legislator of the Year: Senator Jason M. Lewis and Representative Mindy Domb

Providers often work closely with legislators throughout the year on matters that impact the sector. This award will honor a state representative and a state senator for outstanding contributions to the industry.

Municipal Official of the Year: Chief Steven Mazzie, Everett Police Department

Working relationships with local elected officials are frequently key to provider success. This award will honor a municipal official for outstanding contributions to the industry.

Business Partnership: Dr. James Feeney, Bridgewater State University

Providers work in partnership with vendors and receive significant help from corporate partners. This award will be given to a business that has worked to promote or better the industry.

Media: Erika Tarantal, Channel 5-WCVB

The media plays a large role in the public’s perception of the human service industry. This award will be given for reporting on an industry issue that has positively contributed to the public’s understanding of human services.