Human Services Credentialing Program

Providers’ eAcademy® hosts the Providers' Council's  Human Services Credentialing Program designed to develop and implement standards and competencies for Direct Support and Direct Service Professionals within the field of human services.

In 2005, the Human Services Credentialing Program was launched with one credential in Developmental Disabilities. The success of the program led to the creation of credentials in additional areas within human services, and all of the seven credentials were updated in 2021-22.

Human Services Credential for Entry-level Staff:

Autism Spectrum Disorder

Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

Child Welfare Level 1

Child Welfare Level 2

Mental Health

Substance Use Disorder

Human Services Credential for Supervisory Staff:

Leadership & Frontline Supervision


The Credential Breakdown

  • Each credential has at least 10 modules and one final exam based on nationally recognized core competency areas for a total of between 14 to 16 credit hours;
  • A Professional Standards Board comprised of experts in the Massachusetts human services field worked to identify content and make material specific to the training needs of the Massachusetts human service workforce;
  • Each credential has a focus on a particular service population within Massachusetts. The credentials give staff the tools to efficiently deliver the best care possible to clients.
  • Inclusion of technology and mechanisms for communication including social media, texting, etc.;
  • Incorporation of evidence-based interventions; and
  • Interactivity, reality-based scenarios and engaging visuals.



For more information about how your agency can access the Human Services Credentialing Program through Providers’ eAcademy®, please contact Amanda Rheaume at