Providers’ Council

Member Login


Join Our Mailing List

Dick Hoyt to keynote Council’s 38th Annual Convention

Contact: Bill Yelenak
Phone: 617-428-3637 x122 (office) | 860-919-0369 (cell)

BOSTON – Dick Hoyt of Team Hoyt will deliver the keynote address at the 38th Annual Providers’ Council Convention & Expo, Champions for Change, at the Marriott Copley Place Hotel in Boston on Wednesday, November 6, 2013. Hoyt and his son, Rick, form Team Hoyt and they have competed in 31 Boston Marathons, including earlier this year when they were stopped short of the finish line after the explosions along Boylston Street. He will inspire attendees by promoting the Team Hoyt motto of “Yes You Can” during his keynote.

The largest event of its kind in the Northeast, the Annual Convention & Expo is expected to draw nearly 1,200 people, many of whom work in the community-based human services sector. Event highlights include the Awards of Excellence and Peer Provider Awards, given to individuals and organizations for demonstrating dedication to and/or excellence in the human services sector. A schedule of awards and speakers is below.

Press interested in attending should contact Bill Yelenak. Keynote Speaker Dick Hoyt will speak at 9:15 a.m. and EOHHS Secretary John Polanowicz is expected to address attendees at about 1 p.m. during lunch.

Awards of Excellence (10:15 a.m.)

  • Richard J. Bond Executive of the Year – Dafna Krouk-Gordon, TILL, Inc. (Dedham)
  • Richard J. Bond Supervisor of the Year – Alice Murphy, Seven Hills Foundation (Worcester)
  • Gerry Wright Direct Service Award – Markus Henrichs, Advocates, Inc. (Framingham)
  • Gerry Wright Direct Service Award – Glandoor Solomon, Family Service of Greater Boston (Boston)
  • Volunteer of the Year Award – Olga Maldonado Romero, New North Citizens’ Council, Inc. (Springfield)
  • Ruth M. Batson Advocate of the Year – Michael Vance, Action for Boston Comm. Development (Boston)
  • Innovator of the Year Award – Communities for People (Boston)
  • State Employee of the Year Award – Dana Roszkiewicz, Dept. Developmental Services (Boston)
  • Legislator of the Year Award – Sen. James Welch (Hampden)
  • Legislator of the Year Award – Rep. James Dwyer (Thirtieth Middlesex)
  • Municipal Official of the Year – Elizabeth Doyle, City of Boston (Boston)
  • Business Partnership Award – New England BioLabs (Ipswich)

Peer Provider Awards (1:30 p.m.)

  • South End Community Center (Springfield)
  • YMCA of Greater Boston (Boston)
  • Friendship Home, Inc. (Norwell)
  • HMEA (Franklin)

The Providers' Council, also known as the Massachusetts Council of Human Service Providers, Inc., is the largest statewide membership association for community-based organizations providing social, rehabilitation, education and health care services.