Providers’ Council

Member Login


Join Our Mailing List

Voters turn out in droves to have say on Super Tuesday

Riding what is expected to be record voter turnout for a primary election in Massachusetts, Donald Trump cruised in the Republican race and Hillary Clinton edged out Bernie Sanders on the Democratic side on Super Tuesday.

Overall, Trump won seven states, Ted Cruz won three and Marco Rubio won one. Clinton won seven states and Sanders won four – the victories were all runaways except in Massachusetts where Clinton's unofficial margin of victory was less than 2 percent – 50.1 to 48.7 .

Voter turnout in the state will be released within about a week, but MassINC Polling President Steve Koczela projected that the final numbers will come in somewhere around a record-setting 2.1 million people. Secretary of State William Galvin said on Feb. 29 that he expected Super Tuesday's turnout to exceed the previous 2008 turnout record of 1.8 million. Boston, the only municipality that releases unofficial voting information, had voter turnout at nearly 39 percent shortly after polls closed at 8 p.m.

In several communities, voters were also deciding state representative races, and Democrats won all three House seats.

Former Rep. Thomas Walsh will return to the House in a district covering most of Peabody, replacing Leah Cole, who resigned her seat to focus on her nursing career.

Fitchburg City Councilor Stephan Hay will take the seat representing his city and a precinct of Lunenburg, succeeding Stephen DiNitale, who is now mayor of Fitchburg.

And in Brockton, Gerard Cassidy, who was unopposed after winning a Democratic primary last month, takes the place of Michael Brady, who moved from the House to the Senate.

Three more special election primaries are scheduled for April 12, in East Boston, Weymouth and Lynn. The House seats were vacated by Robert Fennell (Lynn) and Anthony Petruccelli (East Boston) and longtime Senator Robert Hedlund (Weymouth). Those seats will be decided on May 10. If you live in those communities, but have not yet registered to vote, click here. You must be registered by March 23 to vote on April 12.