Providers’ Council

Member Login


Join Our Mailing List

House unanimously overrides Governor’s Salary Reserve veto!

The House unanimously voted on Tuesday, July 17 to override Governor Deval Patrick's veto of the Salary Reserve. This is the first step in a process to restore a modest salary increase for the human services sector's direct care workers.

The Providers' Council has many people to thank for making this happen. This effort would not have been possible without the efforts of Speaker of the House Robert DeLeo, who brought the override vote to the chamber. Speaker DeLeo's support for the human services sector and his understanding of the issues facing low-paid workers are greatly appreciated. Additionally, we are incredibly grateful to our champion, Rep. David Linsky, who wrote a letter -- co-signed by 107 of his colleagues -- urging Speaker DeLeo to override the Governor's veto of the Salary Reserve.

And Council members and members of The Caring Force did incredible work as well by advocating for the Salary Reserve. Your 1,300+ emails to legislators, countless phone calls and many visits up to Beacon Hill made a difference and encouraged nearly 70 percent of the House to sign a letter of support for overriding the Salary Reserve. If your representative is listed below, please call and thank him or her for supporting the Salary Reserve. You can find phone numbers for all legislators here.

The list of co-signers on Rep. Linsky's letter to Speaker DeLeo included:

Reps. David Linsky, Kevin Aguiar, Denise Andrews, Brian Ashe, Cory Atkins, Ruth Balser, Matthew Beaton, Jennifer Benson, John Binienda, Paul Brodeur, Thomas Calter, Linda Dean Campbell, Christine Canavan, James Cantwell, Gailanne Cariddi, Tackey Chan, Cheryl Coakley-Rivera, Thomas Conroy, Geraldine Creedon, Mark Cusack, Angelo D'Emilia, Geoffrey Diehl, Stephen DiNatale, Paul Donato, Peter Durant, James Dwyer, Carolyn Dykema, Lori Ehrlich, Tricia Farley-Bouvier, Ryan Fattman, Robert Fennell, Kimberly Ferguson, John Fernandes, Linda Dorcena Forry, Gloria Fox, John Fresolo, William Galvin, Sean Garballey, Denise Garlick, Colleen Garry, Susan Williams Gifford, Anne Gobi, Thomas Golden, Patricia Haddad, Sheila Harrington, Jonathan Hecht, Carlos Henriquez, Bradford Hill, Kate Hogan, Kevin Honan, Donald Humason, Bradley Jones, Louis Kafka, Jay Kaufman, John Keenan, Kay Khan, Peter Kocot, Stephen Kulik, Kevin Kuros, John Lawn, Steven Levy, Jason Lewis, Timothy Madden, John Mahoney, Elizabeth Malia, Paul Mark, Christopher Markey, Paul McMurtry, Aaron Michlewitz, Kevin Murphy, David Nangle, Rhonda Nyman, James O'Day, Jerald Parisella, Sarah Peake, Alice Hanlon Peisch, George Peterson, Thomas Petrolati, William Pignatelli, Denise Provost, Angelo Puppolo, Dennis Rosa, George Ross, Byron Rushing, Jeffrey Sanchez, Tom Sannicandro, Paul Schmid, John Scibak, Carl Sciortino, Stephen Stat Smith, Frank Smizik, Todd Smola, Theodore Speliotis, Joyce Spiliotis, Thomas Stanley, William Straus, David Sullivan, Benjamin Swan Walter Timilty, Timothy Toomey, David Torrisi, Cleon Turner, David Vieira, Chris Walsh, Martin Walsh, Martha Walz, Dan Winslow and Alice Wolf.

Thank you to our representatives who secured an override of the Governor's veto! We now move onto the Senate, which originally inserted the $20 million Salary Reserve in the state budget. We are hopeful it will happen in the near future, and we will be in touch as this progresses.