Providers’ Council

Member Login


Join Our Mailing List

House omits Salary Reserve from budget

Even though the Salary Reserve amendment received broad, bipartisan support from nearly 100 state representatives, the House declined to include the Salary Reserve in its budget proposal for FY '13.

While we, too, are disappointed to see Representative David Linsky's Human Services Salary Reserve amendment not included in the House budget, this is no way a reflection on the job you did advocating for this critical amendment. From The Caring Force rally at the beginning of the month to your efforts to secure co-sponsors over the last two weeks, we are in awe of your efforts and are incredibly grateful for your time, engagement and continued commitment on behalf of our dedicated workforce. 

Thanks for your support of this amendment and the human services sector. Please thank Rep. David Linsky and your legislators listed below who co-sponsored the Salary Reserve and stood as champions alongside our dedicated workforce. We hope to see a Salary Reserve included in the Senate budget, and we will be ready to continue advocating on behalf of the human services workforce as the budget process moves forward.

Thanks once again to amendment sponsor Rep. David Linsky and our nearly 100 co-sponsors in the House, including: Representatives Kevin Aguiar, Denise Andrews, James Arciero, Brian Ashe, Demetrius Atsalis, Bruce Ayers, Ruth Balser, Richard Bastien, Matthew Beaton, Michael Brady, Antonio Cabral, Thomas Calter, Christine Canavan, James Cantwell, Gailanne Cariddi, Tackey Chan, Cheryl Coakley-Rivera, Nick Collins, Thomas Conroy, Mark Cusack, Angelo D'Emilia, Marcos Devers, Stephen DiNatale, Paul Donato, Peter Durant, James Dwyer, Lori Ehrlich, Christopher Fallon, Tricia Farley-Bouvier, Robert Fennell, John Fernandes, Michael Finn, Linda Dorcena Forry, Gloria Fox, John Fresolo, William Galvin, Sean Garballey, Denise Garlick, Colleen Garry, Susan Gifford, Anne Gobi, Thomas Golden, Jonathan Hecht, Carlos Henriquez, Bradford Hill, Kate Hogan, Russell Holmes, Donald Humason, Louis Kafka, Michael Kane, Jay Kaufman, John Keenan, Kay Khan, Peter Kocot, John Lawn, Jason Lewis, Timothy Madden, John Mahoney, Liz Malia, Paul Mark, Christopher Markey, Paul McMurtry, Kevin Murphy, Charles Murphy, James Murphy, David Nangle, Rhonda Nyman, James O'Day, Jerald Parisella, Alice Peisch, George Peterson, William Pignatelli, Elizabeth Poirier, Denise Provost, Angelo Puppolo, Kathi-Anne Reinstein, Dennis Rosa, George Ross, Jeffrey Sanchez, Tom Sannicandro, Angelo Scaccia, Paul Schmid, John Scibak, Carl Sciortino, Frank Smizik, Todd Smola, Theodore Speliotis, Joyce Spiliotis, Thomas Stanley, William Straus, David Sullivan, Benjamin Swan, Walter Timilty, Timothy Toomey, Steven Walsh, Chris Walsh, Martin Walsh and Daniel Winslow. 

If you need any additional information, please contact Bill Yelenak at the Providers' Council. As always, thank you for your tireless efforts to secure co-sponsors and fight for this amendment over the past weeks and months. The Council and the dedicated human services workforce appreciate your incredible efforts.