Providers’ Council

Member Login


Join Our Mailing List

Council recognizes 15 with Awards of Excellence

The Providers’ Council’s 41st Annual Convention & Expo: Inspire | Ignite | Impact held on Monday, Oct. 24, 2016 was an opportunity to celebrate and honor individuals and community partners that have supported the Massachusetts human services sector throughout the year.

The Council’s annual Awards of Excellence give member agencies the chance to recognize the employees, volunteers businesses, municipal partners and others who have helped make their organizations better and stronger.

In all, 15 Awards of Excellence for contributions to human services were presented Oct. 24. The recipients are:

Gerry Wright Direct Service Employee of the Year: Toya Walker Sannon, Children’s Services of Roxbury; Bill Batista, WCI – Work, Community, Independence

Richard J. Bond Award: Executive – Richard Bedine (posthumous), Solutions for Living; Supervisors – Antwan Steed, Wayside Youth & Family Support Services; Heidi Torries, TILL, Inc.

Ruth M. Batson Advocate of the Year: Joan Whitaker, Action for Boston Community Development

Innovator of the Year: Charles Gagnon and SMOC

Media Award: On Point, WBUR

State Employee of the Year: Kelly Lawless, Department of Developmental Services

State Legislators of the Year: House – Rep. Jeffrey Roy; Senate – Sen. Sonia Chang-Diaz; Lifetime Achievement – Rep. Gloria Fox

Municipal Official of the Year: Chief James Fitzpatrick, Lawrence Police Department

Volunteer of the Year: Nancy Aubrey, RSM US

Business Partnership: Wellframe