Providers’ Council

Member Login


Join Our Mailing List

Council, others oppose property tax payments for nonprofits

The Providers' Council is part of a coalition of 17 nonprofits from across Massachusetts that sent a letter July 19th to a legislative Conference Committee urging members to reject a provision in an economic development bill that would force nonprofits to pay property taxes.

The language in question – Section 127 of House Bill 4483 – would force nonprofits to pay property taxes for four years if purchasing a piece of property from an owner that was not tax exempt. The House version of the Economic Development bill in the Legislature contained the provision, while the Senate version omitted the provision. The letter urged the six conferees to reject the provision, as it directly contradicts state and federal laws that make nonprofits exempt from paying property taxes.

The nonprofit sector, the letter reads, "has nearly 530,000 jobs and produces over $30 billion in wages for employees, much of which is disposable income that is spent in our local cities and towns. Nonprofit jobs make up 17 percent of the state’s workforce, and Massachusetts has the sixth largest nonprofit sector in the nation." You can download the full letter here.

The organizations signing on to the letter in addition to the Council are (alphabetically): Association for Behavioral Healthcare, Association of Developmental Disabilities Providers, Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in Massachusetts, Alliance of Massachusetts YMCAs, Atrius Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts, Center for Human Development, Citizens' Housing and Planning Association, Conference of Boston Teaching Hospitals, Home Care Alliance of Massachusetts, Hospice & Palliative Care Federation of Massachusetts, maaps, Massachusetts Council of Community Hospitals, Massachusetts Hospital Association, Massachusetts League of Community Health Centers and Massachusetts Nonprofit Network. 

A resolution to this issue is expected before the close of the legislative session at the end of July. For more information, Council members can e-mail Bill Yelenak.